Good Good Daughter

My current favorite song is Good Good Father sung by various differnt artists. 

I have been singing it lately to Jimmie and I adapt the chorus this way:

You’re a good good daughter

It’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are

You are loved by your daddy, it’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am. 

I can hardly sing these lyrics to her without crying. J woke up early this morning so we had a nice time together before everyone got up. I played this song over and over from my phone, I sang these lyrics to her adapting them as my heart led me, and I cried like a baby as my little girl laughed and smiled. 

It’s one of my favorite memories with J so far. 

I sing modern worship songs to J as often as I can because they are simple yet deep and help me teach her some of the most important aspects of who I believe God to be, that she is loved by God and so many others, and we are holding her in faith as a gift entrusted to us until she can (hopefully) begin a faith pilgrimage herself. Nothing in life brings me greater joy than being a partner with H and a parent to J. 

Jimmie, you are a good good daughter, it’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are. You are loved by your daddy (and mommy too) . . . 

Leave a comment